Cocina conmigo #3 – Surprise Coconut Curry

I can’t say I’ve ever been a chef, I’m not really a whiz in the kitchen, but this dish is one of the very few I’m genuinely quite proud that I make out here. This ones a little more complicated (I just mean it has more ingredients) so whatcha gonna need is:

⁃ coconut milk (20L at any good pulpería)

⁃ Rice

⁃ Sweet potatoes

⁃ Normal potatoes

⁃ A variety of veggies such as: carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, green beans

⁃ Garlic

⁃ Onion

⁃ Curry powder + paprika

⁃ Stock cube

⁃ Lentils (surprise!)

Step 1: get a big ol’ pot of water boiling + whilst you wait use this time to cut those veggies any which was you want – but I prefer slightly bigger chunks for a curry. Once these are chopped + the water is listo, throw them in! Also add some consomé de pillo + your lentils (around 1-2 handfuls).

Step 2: As your veggies are doing their work chop onion + garlic to fry these. Once they’ve been frying a while, like maybe 2 minutes (I’m not so exact), I throw in some paprika + curry powder to flavour.

Step 3: You now should have some cooked veggies + a pan full of oniony goodness. What I tend to do at this point is drain my veggies + put some more water on to boil.

Step 4: weigh your rice (we use a mug) + add it to the boiling water, along with some garlic + turn down the oniony pan before adding your veggie/lentil concoction to it, throwing in the coconut milk, some extra spices + letting it simmer

Step 5: once the rice is cooked you can drain it + dish it out – sometimes when I have extra coconut milk I throw it on the rice to bring back those Belizan vibes

Step 6: mix the love through that veggie/sauce then generously lather it onto the rice + enjoy!

^ a very happy charlotte with her curry

Step 7: if you’re feeling fancy (which we’re not because we’re poor) you can always put some herbs or something on the top. You know, just to finish off the look!

Hoping you all enjoy the next surprise coconut curry dish you make + realise that volunteers can live off more than just pasta + tomato sauce😉

All the best from a little pink kitchen in Yamaranguila,

Charlie

Leave a comment