1/3 To Go..

~9 Months~

It feels like it was only the other day that I was writing one of these + it is safe to say the 9th month has seriously raced past! The scary part is now we only have one section left to finish writing in our booklets, although we did spend a long time completing our 9 month sections.

When I look back at the first 3 months + the blog I put out it all sound so childish. What, we didn’t realise buying cinnamon in a plastic bag wouldn’t be legit? There was a time when we had mould problems? Hilariously, that was the month we gave the neighbours some banana crumble which they hated (+ I’m now craving as I write) and also the month of our 5km race! These are now only fond memories which really does make me wanna cry – how does time pass so quick? One thing I really do miss though is the safety of knowing how much time we had left. I’m so sad because I’m sitting here realising we only have just 1 month left here, in Yamaranguila.

Once we got back from Teguc we were welcomed to a extremely chilly couple of days in Yam as there was a particularly strong cold front taking over the skies. This left us wearing an unimaginable amount of layers + me looking weird with my scarf protecting my ice cube like ears, which Isaac found rather hilarious. Thankfully on the Monday Shawna gifted us some soup at lunch and this warmed with a book really was the comforting break I needed.

We were also able to enjoy amazing strawberry pie from her as well as a spinach + cheesy chicken so huge thanks to Shawna for being our food mumma out here!! I must admit my weakness really lies with Honduran food which, seeing as I don’t have much longer to enjoy, I’m trying to have as much as possible! Especially when it’s a gift from the lovely lunch ladies who I always chat to whilst heating whatever meal we’re having that day. Thanks to them I had a yummy tortilla, beans + some chorizo the other day😋

Sometimes though this can take a turn for the worst, such as our disastrous baleada experience in La Fuente – a place I previously raved about being the best. I’m gonna assume there was a change of reciepe because this time they were just too much. Blegh. I think it was the beans that were really nasty + strong so the 1st half was yummy but from there it was a struggle which left us feeling gross.

^the calm before the baleada storm

More food – but this time from my wonderful kiddos! Emily + Marian often come to find me at recess which means I try in vain to decline delicious treats from them. Cookies, tortillas con cajada, Pringles + plantain are thrust in my face + since I now know it’s rude to refuse food from Hondurans I enjoy these with them – as well as trying to share my banana pancakes. Marian wasn’t too keen on these, her comment being “this is ugly… but it’s good.” At least we had a good laugh over them!

One of my favourites was a cutie from Nivelación handed me this half eaten watermelon as a gift.. thanks Cristhel! Also, during a nivelacion lesson (where I take the younger kids + we work in the cafeteria) one of the lunch ladies walked over + gifted me a bag of peaches!! There’s always little surprises here to brighten your day☺️

Okay let’s finally move on from food (although it’s one of the highlights of my life here for sure!).

Issac’s latest obsession is Thomas the Tank Engine. This leaves him speaking in an adorable little British accent – I’ll definitely never get homesick now!

Since finishing War + Peace (yay!) I’ve been reading loads! My current count of books read is up to: …

I celebrated my International Day with 2nd Grade for the Day of Creativity + Innovation which was nothing but a bunch of fun. Massive well done to my kiddos for all their hard work! If you wanna read about it + watch a super cute video, go to this link: https://helpcharlottehelphonduras.wordpress.com/2018/04/23/2nd-grade-superheroes/

That night we flew off (figuratively speaking, in the back of a truck) to La Unión + had such an incredible weekend with the girls – thanks to them for the adventures💙 that tale is written about here: https://helpcharlottehelphonduras.wordpress.com/2018/04/27/travel-tales-19-wild-weekend/

As always, school wasn’t quite exactly normal as this moth we celebrated Spanish Day + had a Spelling Bee! There was also SAG (student annual gathering) in Teguc which is a competition over a huge range of events between all of the Vida schools. Our school, being practically the baby of the group, could only send 6th + 7th Graders who were up against those from 12th but we still won some medals + did an ace job anyways. Go Yam!

For this week, 4 of our staff were out as they were in Teguc helping which saw me covering 4th Grade a lot. After the disaster that was the first day where I felt like I had no control over the class I came back the next day with a fresh attitude and a lot more strict teaching routine which really helped! I can’t say I’m really good at being a strict teacher because I’m so use to being crazy with the younger grades but this is something you really need with the older kids. I ended up having a good week with 4th + even managed to give a math lesson so I was pretty happy with myself by the end! It also resulted in some funky pictures when Kevin stole my phone in class:

Spanish Day saw the entire school cramming into the cafeteria for an assembly led by the Honduran staff. There was a game/presentation from each grade as well as jokes, a mini spelling bee + some history lessons. I spent the whole time with lots of my kiddos all trying to sit in my lap as well as chatting with the 3 older boys from Nivelación. It was a really funny experience + afterwards Carlos made me smile by saying “you are very special with your kids” – awwwh!!

^pictures the school took of the younger kids, then 2nd Grade then the older ones🎉

On the day of the Spelling Bee I was unfortunately really ill (keep reading to discover more) but I got told by everyone it was really sweet! I’m super proud of all my kiddos, especially Nivelación who have only been learning English since January + rocked it👊 when I tested them in class they all did amazing so I’m one very happy mother hen!

^my stomach the morning after

The sickness I speak of was another allergic reaction I discovered just after 3 in the morning. Again I awoke madly itching and in a sleepy state I stumbled to the bathroom to find my body covering in super angry bumps – much larger than the first time. This time they were also accompanied by a burning sensation that made my whole body itch and saw me laying cool flannels over my legs. My wonderful mumma thankfully videocalled me + at her suggestion the equally wonderful Giselle (who I accidentally woke up) made me a baking soda + water concoction to place over my frazzled legs – thanks buddy!! This time, I was feeling strong + decided not to call Jake but try to wait it out. After catching 40 minutes more sleep, when the alarm went off I realised to my horror there was no way I could go into school. The rashes were still huge + I felt like death after barely any sleep so I waved goodbye to Giselle + spent a rather sad day alone at home. As always, the family were wonderful + gave me water as well as lunch of spaghetti. The best part, though, was returning to school the next day for all the love my kiddos gave me.

I wasn’t the only sick volunteer this month as we finally made our first clinic trip for Giselle. Basically, we were walking down the street where a man was soldering a sign onto a shop, creating sparks that flew out into the street. As we walked past I felt something hit my eye but carried on, then realised I’d lost Giselle, who was standing in the road playing with her eye. I guided her to the curve + we spent 15 minutes attempting to dislodge the item causing discomfort. The pulperia we were outside of kindly let us use their mirror + eventually the pila as well but nothing would work. We had to give in + try get to the clinic as at this point she couldn’t open one eye at all. With her hands clinging onto my shoulders I tried my best to guide us through the city to the clinic we know on the otherside + once there we were thankfully seen straight away. It was my turn to play doctor as I had the rather important job of shining the incredibly bright light in Giselle’s eye so the doctor could poke around with her fingers. The dirt was easily removed + we could breathe a sigh of relief – Giselle could see! We may, at times, worry our parents to death but at least we can say our lives are never boring here!

I’ve ended up covering 2nd Grade for 2 Fridays this month which was nothing but fun for me. I adore those kiddos + although it can be hard trying to get 34 kids to work as well as Isaac, who is his own challenge, it’s so worth it. I always reiceve lots of hugs, love notes + my heart is so full at the end of the day. One Friday we did our Mothers Day activity (a very sweet heart shaped card with a flower inside) so for devotional I got the kiddos to draw their mums (using mine as an example) + say why they loved them. Then we made our cards which resulted in some very cute pictures before a crazy session of the Hockey Pokey that 2nd Grade never seem to get bored of.

Also, it was the assistants turn to do chapel last week about Mother’s Day. This saw Abi doing an amazing PowerPoint presentation + the rest of us chipping in where we could: Giselle + I taught a song we’d made the night before entitled “I love my mummy” which I think went pretty well! Here’s some cute pictures we snapped after:

We had our final parent-teacher conference which is kind of scary to think about, but saw me being with Anna in Nivelación, chatting about spelling. It felt weird to be an actual teacher but I was pretty proud of myself for managing to survive the whole morning discussing the kids in Spanish. The parents were so lovely + you can really tell how much it means to them, especially when they get emotional. Also, I’m incredibly proud of 2nd Grade as we had 11 students on Honour Roll! Wooo!

^free cinnamon swirls each teacher got😍

Pictured below, the semi-flooded church + a duck paddling in the newly installed pool outside:

I also tried something new by accompanying the family to church for the Día de la madre celebration. This was a really lovely service with a hilarious drama one of the daughters, Cindy, stared in as well as a big prayer for all of our mummas. The surprise of the incredible “merienda” we received was super yummy that we enjoyed in the church as the storm pumpleted down outside + semi-flooded the room. Nothing ever goes smoothly here but isn’t that why I love Honduras so much? Yup!

^how does this constitute a snack?!

After that we paddled home through the streams of water (goodbye, nice looking converse) + were treated to an 2nd lunch of soup.

A warming soup + some coffee in bed made the rainy day seem a lot less dreary as we relaxed, writing lots.

There’s been some wonderful moments with my kids already this week but my favourite was the wonderful gift Iris decided to give me today. A little cup filled with sweets that says “you’re great!” Along with a beautiful note💙💙 I appreciate these kids SO much!

As our 10th month marks the last full month we will be living in Yam Yam I decided I need to focus on some things…

⁃ Running

Since we have plans to scale volcano aticlan in Guatemala I feel I need to start some sort of training so I don’t die halfway up. As well as this I can’t be going to uni + trying to play sport if my body has been súper use to not working out + consuming way too many tortillas, speaking of which…

⁃ Honduran Food

I imagine we will be consuming as much of this as possible which is for obvious reasons! Firstly, it’s delcious. Do I need any more reasons? Secondly, there’s no way I’ll be able to have access to many of the delicacies here in England… sadness…

⁃ Appreciating Yam Yam

We have plans to film videos, go on lots of walks + of course spend time with our Honduran family as Yam had been nothing but good to us. I’m going to try my hardest not to be sad that we’re leaving but instead live in the moment.

Expect lots of sentimental blogs in this last month regarding my kids, the family + our wonderful life here. Sending good vibes to all!

From a little blue house in Yamaranguila,

Charlotte x

Leave a comment